How Many Trophies Have Manchester United Won?

Manchester United Trophies

Manchester United is one of the world’s most supported and successful football teams, not only in English football but worldwide.

The team’s trophy cabinet is brimming with awards, making it a dream team for emerging talents and superstar players. The Red Devils have a rich history and are one of the most iconic football clubs in the world.

So, what does Manchester United’s trophy collection look like? Here are the details.

How many trophies have Manchester United won in their history?

Manchester United has won a large number of trophies, with their shiny awards room filled with trophies dating back to the early 1910s. Their most recent victory in the Europa League in 2017 is their latest addition to their trophy cabinet.

In total, Manchester United have secured 68 major trophies. United is the club with the most trophies of any Premier League club, with one more than their biggest rival, Liverpool. Man United holds the record for most Premier League titles – 20. Liverpool are one league title behind United after winning their 19th title in the 2019-20 season.

Manchester United’s golden era was under Sir Alex Ferguson management from 1992 to 201. During that time, Man United triumphed in the Premier League a record-breaking 13 times.

After Sir Alex Ferguson’s departure, the club went into something like a small crisis. They haven’t won the Premier League title since then. Besides struggling to win the league, the club was also struggling in European competitions. They haven’t added to their trophy count since their Europa League victory in May 2017 under the guidance of Jose Mourinho.

Manchester United, based at Old Trafford, holds the record for the most successful team in the history of both the Premier League and the Community Shield. 

The club’s most recent trophy was the Carabao Cup title. They faced Newcastle in the cup final in 2023. United comfortably won the silverware in a 2-0 win. That ended Manchester United’s 6-year trophy drought.

How many European trophies Man United have won?

Man United has won a total of four European trophies. They have won the Champions League three times – 1968,1999 and 2008. Their first Europa League title came in 2017.

For the first time in their history, United won the European Cup in 1968. Under the guidance of Matt Busby, United clinched the European Cup by beating Benfica 4-1 in the final, becoming the first English club to win the title.

The final of the 1999 UEFA Champions League was a night to remember. Under Ferguson’s guidance, United achieved a remarkable 2-1 triumph over Bayern Munich. Teddy Sheringham and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer scored  goals in extra time, turning the game around for United, who were trailing 1-0, and securing them the victory. By winning the Champions League, United became the first and so far only English side to win the treble of the Premier League, the FA Cup and the Champions League.

Manchester United won the trophy for the third time in 2008. They overcame Chelsea in a penalty shootout, following a 1-1 draw at Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow.

The latest European trophy that United secured was the Europa League title in 2017. They clinched the title with a 2-0 victory over Ajax, thanks to goals scored by Paul Pogba and Henrikh Mkhitaryan.

Manchester United Trophy Breakdown

Premier League (First Division) 

Titles: 20

Years won: 1908, 1911, 1952, 1956, 1957, 1965, 1967, 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2013

English Second Division

Titles: 2

Years won: 1936, 1975

FA Cup

Titles: 12

Years won: 1909, 1948, 1963, 1977, 1983, 1985, 1990, 1994, 1996, 1999, 2004, 2016

The only team with more FA Cup titles than Arsenal (14) is Manchester United. The Red Devils have won a total of 12 in their history.

League Cup

Titles: 6

Years won: 1992, 2006, 2009, 2010, 2017, 2023

FA Community Shield (Charity Shield)

Titles: 21

Years won: 1908, 1911, 1952, 1956, 1957, 1965, 1967, 1977, 1983, 1990, 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2016 

Champions League (European Cup)

Titles: 3 

Years won: 1968, 1999, 2008

UEFA Europa League

Titles: 1

Years won: 2017

UEFA Cup Winners Cup

Titles: 1

Years won: 1991

European Super Cup

Titles: 1

Years won: 1991

Intercontinental Cup

Titles: 1

Years won: 1999

FIFA Club World Cup

Titles: 1

Years won: 2008

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *